Scholarship finalists named

Twenty-six students representing Corona del Sol and McClintock high schools have been named semifinalists in the 2013 National Merit Scholarship competition.

Academically talented seniors in all Tempe Union high schools will compete for awards to be offered next spring.

The Tempe district leads all state public schools in the number of NMS winners.

As reported by NMS, to be considered, semifinalists must advance to the finalist level by fulfilling several requirements.

As juniors these students took the 2012 preliminary SAT/NMS qualifying test, which served as the initial screening of all entrants. The pool of semifinalists represents less than one percent of U.S. high school seniors.

Finalists must have an outstanding academic record throughout high school, be endorsed and recommended by the school principal, and earn SAT scores that confirm the student’s earlier qualifying test performance.

Semifinalists from south Tempe high schools include:

Corona del Sol—Hany M. Arafa, Matthew Askins, Jennifer Chiang, Devika S. Dholakia, Sonia Fan, Tyler S. Foggatt, Michael A. Harrison, Ritka Jain, Saisanjana Kalagara, Deydeep Kothapalli, Nathaniel J. Kroeger, Alison E. Ochs, Shariwa Oke, Sumeet C. Patwardhan, Michelle D. Stephens, Joyce Wen, Nathan K. Yiin

McClintock-Eden E. Barnett, Stephanie B. Brabson, Karen Chang, Meera K. Doshi, Patrick D. Kraemer-Green, Thomas F. Liu, Joy L. Nachman, Eveline Postelnicu, Abhishek Rajadas.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here