CdS athletes take postseason city, region honors
By: Alex Zener
December 20, 2008

Corona del Sol athletes have garnered several post-season awards including Tempe All-City and Central Region recognition.
The badminton team won its first state championship beating Mountain Pointe in the finals. Amy Davis was named to the All-City team and the East Valley Tribune’s 5A-4A first team after placing second in the state singles match. Brittany Messer was named to the Tribune’s 5A-4A second team. Corona coach Katie Inskeep was selected as the Tribune’s coach of the year.

The Corona girls golf team was Central Region champions and Tempe All-City champions counting on top-five finishes from Kelsey Hoyt, Dana Finkelstein and Hailee Axelsen. Alex Haun received the Joe Sellah Award, Hoyt the Most Valuable Award and Kirsten Rivas the Most Improved Award. Coach Pat Reed was named Central Region Coach of the Year and 5A-I State Coach of the Year.

Corona’s girls cross country team won the Central Region title and Tempe All-City championship. Runner Danica Ganje ran well all season placing seventh at the 5A-1 state meet and was named to the Tribune’s second team. On the boys cross country team Matt Whitlatch finished 12th at 5A-I state meet and was also named to the Tribunes second team.
The Corona swim team had a first place 5A-I finish from Bryan Lui in the 100-yard backstroke.

The Lady Aztec volleyball team was Central Region champions and Coach Ben Maxfield was named Central Region Coach of the Year. The team advanced to the quarterfinals in the 5A-I state tournament before falling to Xavier. Several players were named to Central Region teams including Cassie Ronda, Bethany Jorgensen, Taylor Kesteloot and Lexie Schroeder to the1st Team. Emily Kaup was named to the 2nd Team while Haley Kesteloot, Maddy Harmon, Meghan McCarthy, and Katherine Gatz received Honorable Mention. The East Valley Tribune named Ronda to the 5A first team, Jorgenson to the 5A second team and Kaup, Kesteloot, and Schroeder to the 5A honorable mention team.

The Aztec football team made it into the second round of the 5A Division I state tournament. Several players were named to the 2008 Central Region All-Region Teams including Michael Lange who was named Offensive Player of the Year.

Offense players named to the first team were quarterback Chase Cartwright, running back Lange, center Vince Bonanno, offensive line Tyler Gionnanatti, and wide receiver Kirby Pellant. On the second team were offensive line JP Dyament and Kyle Homewood. Also named was wide receiver Brendon Tunstall. Honorable mention went to running backs Derek Maisel and Evan Althiede, tight end Luke Macchiaroli and wide receiver Brandon Stern.

Defense first team players included defensive end Zeric Butters, defensive line Todd Peat, linebacker Evan Althiede and defensive back Zach Sitton. Second team Aztec players were defensive line Vince Bonanno, linebackers Tyler Giannonatti and Kyle Benson. Also named to the second team were defensive backs Brendon Tunstall and Ryan Nolan. Honorable mention was defensive back Kirby Pellant.

Named to the Central Region Special Teams on the first team was long snapper Zach Sitton and kickoff returner Kirby Pellant. Kicker Pellant was named to the second team.

These will be the last Central Region fall sports awards given to Corona athletes. According to former long-time principal Jim Denton, Corona has been in the same region for over 27 years. Corona was placed in the Central Region during the 1982-83 season.

Starting next fall, Corona will be playing for region championships in all sports in the new East Valley Region against Basha, Mesa Mountain View, Gilbert, Dobson, Mesquite and Highland.




'The Valley's Best Community Newspaper' Phoenix Magazine, August 2007
Serving the Kyrene Corridor since 1991.
Copyright © 2008 Wrangler News. All rights reserved.