In publication since 1991, Wrangler News is distributed free every other Saturday to more than 18,000 homes in the Kyrene Corridor area of South Tempe and West Chandler, and is supported by local and regional advertisers.

  Search past and present issues of the Wrangler
    Site search Web search                       
   powered by
Contact Us Links Media Kit Make a Payment Previous Issues

Back Home Forward

60 young superstars map 'Road to Williamsport'

By Doug Snover

June 24, 2006

Some of the Kyrene Corridor’s best young baseball players, like their counterparts worldwide, are practicing hard for the annual Little League All-Stars tournament better known as “the Road to Williamsport.”

More than 450 children played Little League baseball this year in the Tempe South Little League, which covers Tempe south of the Superstition Freeway. A lucky few are continuing the season as part of the All Stars tournament.

TSLL is fielding five teams with a total of 60 players in post-season Little League competition.

Although Little League promotes teams for players from five to 18 years old, the best-known Little League division is the Majors division, for 11- and 12-year-olds. It is the Majors division that plays on the hallowed fields of Little League’s hometown of Williamsport, Pa., in an event televised each summer.

In 2003, a team from Chandler made it to the semifinals in Williamsport.

This year’s qualifying tournament begins June 29 with pool play between the teams from Tempe South, Rio/Old Town, Guadalupe, Ahwatukee, Chandler American, and Chandler National. Winners from the District tournament will advance to their respective division locations for the State tournaments.

The following players will represent TSLL in the Little League Majors Tournament: John Carosello; Scott Eidson; Daniel Estrada; Jacob Gonzales; Danyal Kadi; Anthony Perez; Tyler Peterson; Robbie Sargent; Dallas Sigrist; Daniel Streng; Adam Wood; and Justin Zimmer.

These players will represent TSLL in the Little League Minors Division Tournament: Riley Biederbeck; Johnny Campion; Cole Coggins; Glenn Farina; Craig McGinnis; Alex Quintana; Austin Sigrist; Thomas Turley; Arturo Valle; Trevor Wood; and Kreston Woods.

Chosen to represent TSLL in the Juniors division were: Brad Allemang; Scott Brady; Cayle Calderon; Omar DelMuro; Andrew Hollow; Andy Jones; Ryan Jones; Pat Maloney; Luke Samuels, and Kris Smith.


Photo by David Stone


web site hit counter