Kassel succeeds Trick as Tempe Woman of the Year


Kristine KasselThe Tempe Chamber of Commerce has named Kristine Kassel as its 2013 Business Woman of the Year. She was honored at the 18th Annual Women in Business Conference on May 22 at the Fiesta Resort Conference Center.

Kassel is the owner of Benefits by Design, Inc., an insurance brokerage company in Tempe that represents several insurance carriers for diversified lines. Kassel is involved in several volunteer organizations, which include the Tempe Chamber, Gabriel’s Angels, Arizona Small Business Association, National Women Business Owners Phoenix Chapter and the National Association of Health Underwriters. She is a Tempe native and a graduate of Arizona State University. She is also a graduate from the AAMES two-year mentoring program with APS, which supports women and minority owned businesses, and Tempe Leadership.

The Business Woman of the Year award was established to recognize an outstanding business woman who has positively impacted the Tempe community. Kassel and the other two finalists have achieved excellence in their fields, displayed leadership in the community, served as positive role models and are active in programs within the community and the Tempe Chamber. They have received numerous awards and accolades for their professionalism and spirit of service.

“The Tempe Chamber of Commerce’s Business Woman of the Year exemplifies the ethics, leadership skills and business acumen that this award was designed to recognize. For her dedication to her work, incredible achievements, leadership skills, steadfast determination and ability to overcome life’s challenges, we are thrilled to honor her,” said Mary Ann Miller, president and CEO of the Tempe Chamber.

The two other finalists were Linda Kalaf, Director of Human Resources, Passenger Relations and Community Engagement of Veolia Transportation, and Deborah Ostreicher, Deputy Aviation Director at Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport.

Immediate previous recipients of the award include Robin Trick in 2012 and Vicki Kringen in 2011.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here